Winter Weather Advisory

Yes.  I’m irritated.  I have a  million things to do at school right now.  Grade papers.  Organize elections.  Plan lessons.  Teach the children.  Okay, maybe not a million.  But I have a pretty long list of things that take up time, energy, and space within my brain that need to be accomplished.  Sooner rather than later.  And it’s not so easy to just pick up where we left off.

Last week, three days.  I missed three days with my students because of ice.  And it was only really bad for like one and three quarters days at my house. So, I should’ve been able to be back at work teaching a day and a quarter.  I should have been there, preparing.  Prepping.  Expostulating. Two days.  I got two days back with my students.  Interrupted, of course, by a weekend.  That was the last thing I needed was a weekend.  To sit around and not do any of the things I should have done while I was home not doing the things I needed to be doing.

Winter. Weather. Sucks.

Not only do I now have to prepare lessons from home for my 135 students – lessons that may or may not have anything to do with what I am currently teaching because I have to stop and restart and stop and restart my teaching, planning, prepping, and regroup continuously – with two children vying for every waking second of my attention, I now I have to complete Pre-K homework online with my 5 year old which consists of going outside feeling, tasting, smelling, holding, and melting the. snow. And create a predictions chart.

Not to mention scrounge something for dinner only to realize I didn’t feed the baby lunch and that is probably why she won’t stop crying and continues to find her way into the pantry pointing aimlessly and saying “schnack”.

I just stepped in yogurt.  And the baby colored on the sofa.  And there is chocolate milk in the five-year-old’s hair (how the hell did that happen?).  I need to scream.  Or cry.  Or drink.

This wasn’t what I had in mind six weeks ago when I was begging for a few extra days home.

But then again – nothing about life is really on our time, in our plan or by our design, is it?  When I beg for a snow day, it’s to snuggle and play and reconnect with my family.  It’s to drink extra coffee, catch up on TV, read an extra book.  This past week has been so stressful – power outages, boredom, whininess.  Obsession over getting everything done.  Not getting anything done.  Having zero motivation to do anything but sit.

Perhaps, unbeknownst to me, that was what I needed.  To sit.  To think.  Perhaps, the eighteen hours of no power or heat or a shower was my reset.  And these days where the roads aren’t bad here but they are somewhere else is God telling me slow down.  Take it easy.  Instead of a whisper, perhaps He’s yelling at the top of His lungs:  I am here.  I am holding on to you.  I am in control.

Perhaps the snow dusted trees bruised by the weight of the ice storm last week is merely God saying:  Remember me?

The Winter Weather is not convenient.  Or appreciated.  Or welcome.

But God’s love is.

And there is no greater illustration of God’s love for me than the gift of my children.  So, I’m going to go clean up after them – and I’m going to turn our living room into an incredible Wonderland of games and music and snacks where giggles and silliness and excitement will echo.  And I’m going to make hot chocolate and apple cider and whip up some cookies.

Because tomorrow, I may be back at school wishing I had taken in more of the moments I was given today.  So, excuse me – I have a tea party to plan … and attend.

11008957_10205122365411437_142168759_n 11008856_10205122361411337_1847988423_n

Winter Weather Advisory

One thought on “Winter Weather Advisory

Leave a comment